Top News

Newfoundland and Labrador pharmacists honoured at annual awards gala

Two pharmacists from Shoppers Drug Mart were big winners at the Pharmacists’ Association of Newfoundland and Labrador (PANL) annual awards gala in St. John’s this past weekend.

Brenda Bursey, from Shoppers on LeMarchant Road in St. John’s, was the recipient of the 2018 Bowl of Hygeia.
The award, considered one of the profession’s most prestigious honours, is awarded to a pharmacist who possesses an outstanding record of civil leadership in their community while encouraging colleagues to be active within the community.

Luke Agada, who works out of the Shoppers in Grand Falls-Windsor, took home the community pharmacist of the year honours, presented annually to one who has gone above and beyond their regular roles in providing service to clients.

Hospital pharmacist of the year went to Michael Welsh of Western Health.

Meanwhile, Memorial University school of pharmacy student Amelia Clarke won the Ralph J. Harris Future of Pharmacy Award, while classmates Sarah Winsor, Rebecca Druken, Sydney Evans and Christina Tran each took home a Canadian Pharmacists Benefits Association/PANL student award.

Recent Stories