Top News

Scholarship Committee organizing fundraising gala in Lewisporte

The Lewisporte Collegiate Scholarship Fund page can be found on Facebook.
The Lewisporte Collegiate Scholarship Fund page can be found on Facebook.

LEWISPORTE, NL — A group of past graduates of Lewisporte Collegiate and members of the community have formed a committee to recognize the impressive academic achievements of the school’s graduating students. 

Spearheaded by Don Manuel, the Lewisporte Collegiate Scholarship Fundraising Committee recognizes the financial challenges students face when entering post-secondary studies.

While there are already scholarships offered at the school, the committee felt that, because so many students are excelling academically, more scholarships were in order.

Committee member Colleen Barrett said teachers at Lewisporte Collegiate are both dedicated and enthusiastic. Graduating students often earn some of the highest marks in the province, she said.

The committee is hosting a gala fundraising initiative on Oct. 28 at the Kin Centre in Lewisporte. Former Chief of Defense Staff, General (Retired) Rick Hillier will be guest speaker at the event which includes a dinner as well as silent and live auctions.

The committee is accepting both in-kind and monetary donations, Barrett said.

Donations are coming in and tickets are selling fast, she said.

While the committee hasn’t set a fundraising monetary goal, Barrett said, the intention is to make the gala an annual event.

Anyone wishing to donate an item for the auction or contribute financially to the cause can contact any member of the committee or can e-transfer money to

Tickets ($30) for the gala can also be bought via e-transfer or from committee members.

Information on the initiative can be found by searching Lewisporte Collegiate Scholarship Fund on Facebook.

Lewisporte Collegiate Scholarship Fundraising Committee members

Don Manuel (Class of 1961)
Anne Windsor (Class of 1966)
Harold Nippard (Class of 1973)
Gary Ross
Richard Small
Byron Tremblett (Class of 1982)
Colleen Barrett (Class of 1982)
Angie Wilmott (Class of 1988)

Recent Stories